Guatemala will impose restrictions on travelers from 3 countries in Africa due to new Covid-19 variant

The President of Guatemala, Alejandro Giammattei, said this Friday that it will impose restrictions on the entry of people who come to the Central American nation from some African countries before the appearance of a new variant of Covid-19 detected in South Africa.

The European Union and the United Kingdom have tightened border controls for the new variant, although the United States is still analyzing the new situation, while scientists try to find out if the mutation is resistant to vaccines.

“Yesterday we received the report of a new variant, of which we have already given the order to restrict people coming from those countries, which is not much,” said the Guatemalan president in statements to the media.

Travelers to whom entry would be limited would be from Lesotho, Mozambique and South Africa, specified the governor, although the Guatemalan Migration Institute indicated that it is still waiting to receive the presidential order.

Leave a Comment