Biden to lift travel restrictions imposed on eight African countries by Ómicron

The american president Joe Biden announced this Tuesday that on December 31 it will raise the rtravel restrictions imposed on eight African countries by the Omicron variant from coronavirus.

“Travel restrictions … are no longer necessary to protect the public health“, Biden specified in a decree.

The reopening of borders concerns South Africa, Botswana, Zimbabwe, Namibia, Lesotho, Eswatini (formerly Swaziland), Mozambique and Malawi as of Friday at 00:01 Washington (05:01 GMT).

The decision was made on November 26 “out of prudence” once it became known that a new variant of the coronavirus, Ómicron, had been detected in South Africa, a White House spokesman had claimed.

Joe Bien wrote this Tuesday that the decision was made on the recommendation of the health authorities He added that US researchers, “in collaboration with the South African scientists who detected the variant, have made great strides in understanding the Omicron variant.”

The level of danger is lower than initially believed, added the president, who maintained that “scientific experts have concluded that people vaccinated against Covid-19 they are protected against severe forms “of the disease.

The Biden administration was showered with criticism for imposing and maintaining these travel restrictions only south of Africa despite the fact that the new variant of the coronavirus is spreading at high speed throughout the world.

Leave a Comment