Am I eligible for Express Entry?

He Express Entry The system is the main route of economic immigration from Canada to the country; this year it is expected to welcome 110,770 new immigrants to the country.

This number is also planned to increase to 117,500 in 2025 and 2026 (each). In light of this reality, newcomers and those considering immigrating to Canada may find it important to review eligibility for programs within the Express Entry system, not only to determine their current eligibility, but also how to build it over the years. next years.

Get a free Express Entry assessment

What is Express Entry?

Express Entry is an application management system that oversees three Canadian federal economic immigration programs. These are:

The three programs have different eligibility criteria, which applicants must meet to be eligible.

Once candidates are eligible for one of the Express Entry programs, they can enter the Express Entry candidate pool. At this point, they will be assigned a score, depending on the Comprehensive classification system (CRS), based on human capital factors (such as work, language ability, education, and work experience) and impacted by your marital status.

Canada Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship (IRCC) conducts draws for Express Entry candidates regularly throughout the year. The department invites candidates who meet the minimum cut-off score to apply for Canada Permanent residence (PR). The department also recently introduced raffles by categories, for those with specific professional experience or language skills that are in demand in Canada. Candidates from any of the three Express Entry programs may be eligible in these drawings.

After receiving a invitation to apply (ITA) and upon submitting an application, a candidate (now applicant) must pass all necessary checks and meet the criteria presented in his or her application. If this is successful, they will be granted PR status and will be free to permanently reside in Canada and live, work and study in the country as they wish.

What are the eligibility requirements for the FSWP?

The FSWP is one of Canada’s main gateways to skilled economic immigrants.

To be eligible under the FSWP, candidates must meet the program’s minimum requirements and score at least 76 points based on their human capital factors, according to a specific scoring table for the FSWP. Please note that this is a separate score from the CRS score assigned to candidates from the three Express Entry programs, upon entry into the Express Entry pool.

Click here to see the individual selection factors and how many points are awarded to each.

In addition to earning at least 76 points based on the FSWP Selection Factor Scoring Table, candidates must:

  • Have at least one year of full-time or equivalent work experience within the last 10 years, in a skilled occupation as classified in the National Classification of Occupations (NOC) Training Education Experience and Responsibilities (TEER) level 0,1,2 or 3*.
  • Have validated linguistic ability in English or French equivalent to a level 7, according to the Canadian Language Benchmark (CLB) for English, or the Niveaux de compétence linguistique canadiens (NCLC) for French. A level 7 must be obtained in the 4 linguistic skills (writing, reading, listening comprehension and oral expression); and
  • Meet settlement fund criteria, depending on the number of family members who will accompany them to Canada. This requirement may be waived if the person applying is currently authorized to work in Canada and has arranged employment in the country.

*Canada uses the NOC system to classify all jobs, while the TEER system (used in conjugation) helps rate the level at which that job is, based on the training, experience and education required to be eligible, as well as responsibilities of the work itself.

What are the eligibility requirements for CEC?

The CEC is a pathway for skilled workers and international students within Canada (or who have worked in Canada) to pursue public relations activities and remain in Canada. These people tend to score high on the CRS because of their past experience and education in Canada; as well as greater ability in the official language, which generally develops over time in Canada.

To be eligible for the CCA, candidates must:

  • Have obtained at least one year of qualified, professional or technical work experience in Canada, within 36 months (three years) from the date of application;
  • Have a minimum CLB or NCLC level of 5 for NOC TEER level category 2 or 3 jobs, or a CLB/NCLC level of 7 for NOC level 0 or 1 jobs; and
  • Plan to live and work outside of Quebec. People with work experience in Quebec can apply to the Quebec Experience Class (PEQ).

CEC candidates are not required to show proof of settlement funds as part of their application.

What are the eligibility requirements for the FSTP?

The FSTP is an affordable pathway available to newcomers who have experience in an eligible area. specialized trade.

To be eligible under the FSTP, candidates must:

  • Have at least 2 years of full-time work experience in a skilled trade within the last 5 years prior to the date of application;
  • Meet the work requirements for that qualified trade according to the NOC;
  • Have a valid job offer of continuous full-time paid employment (at least 30 hours per week) from up to two employers in Canada, for at least one year OR a qualification certificate* from a provincial or territorial body in Canada;
  • Provide proof of basic language proficiency constituting at least CLB/NCLC level 5 for speaking and listening, at least CLB/NCLC level 4 for reading and writing;
  • Be able to demonstrate skills and experience, and that you have performed the essential functions of your occupation; and
  • Show proof of funds to settle in Canada, unless you are currently authorized to work and be employed in the country.

Get a free Express Entry assessment


Leave a Comment