Monday, October 26


01s-stories, AAFCA, African American Film Critics Association, Celebs, Kenya Barris, Sterling K. Brown, Viola Davis

The African American Film Critics Association will honor Viola Davis, Sterling K. Brown, and Kenya Barris

By Brent Furdyk. 2 minutes ago The Association of African American Film Critics has announced plans to pay tribute to Viola Davis, Sterling K. Brown, Kenya Barris and others in a virtual celebration to be held later this month, hosted by actress Aida Rodríguez. Davis will receive the association's best actress award for her work on "Escaping Murder," while Brown will receive the best actor award for her role in "This Is Us." Barris, creator of "black-ish" and spin-offs "grow-ish" and "mixed-ish", will be recognized as a TV icon. "In a time of so much uncertainty, we have witnessed how powerful the television and broadcast medium is," AAFCA co-founder and president Gil Robertson said in a statement via Hollywood reporter. RELATED: Viola Davis on How Her 'Whol...