World Cup 2026: the Azteca Stadium will host its third World Cup

The FIFA announced this Thursday the 16 venues for the 2026 World Cup that will be jointly organized by the United States, Canada and Mexico, including the Aztec stadiumwhich will break a record for the largest global football event.

The emblematic stadium in Mexico City, venue for the 1970 and 1986 World Cup finals, will become the the first to host matches from three World Cup editions.

The other two Mexican locations are the akron stadiumhome of Chivas de Guadalajara, and the BBVA Stadium, of the Monterrey Rayados. The United States will have a total of 11 venues and Canada another two, FIFA announced at a television event from New York City.

The cities of Mexico, Los Angeles and Toronto were chosen on Thursday as hosts of the 2026 World Cup that will be played for the first time in three countries.

In addition to the Mexican cities, Los Angeles and Toronto, FIFA designated the cities of Seattle, San Francisco, Kansas City, Dallas, Atlanta, Houston, Boston, Philadelphia, Miami, New York/New Jersey and Vancouver as venues where they will be played. the 80 games of 2026 World Cup.

The United States will have a total of 11 locations:

  • Atlanta (Mercedes-Benz Stadium)
  • Boston (Gillette Stadium)
  • Dallas (AT&T Stadium)
  • Houston (NRG Stadium)
  • Kansas City (Arrowhead Stadium)
  • Los Angeles (SoFi Stadium)
  • Miami (Hard Rock Stadium)
  • New York/New Jersey (MetLife Stadium)
  • Philadelphia (Lincoln Financial Field)
  • San Francisco (Levi’s Stadium)
  • Seattle (Lumen Field)

All of these fields are home to teams in the American Football League (NFL) and include fields that are candidates to host the final of the tournament, such as the MetLife Stadium and the sofi stadiumopened in 2020 with a budget of more than 5,000 million dollars.

Canada, meanwhile, will host World Cup games in Toronto (BMO Field) and Vancouver (BC Place Stadium).

Present during the announcement, the president of FIFA, Giani Infantinosaid decisions on the venue for the opening match and the final will be made later.

“We will take our time with that decision,” he said. “There are still some discussions to go on and we will certainly choose the best cities for the openings and the finals.”

The three host countries will share the matches from the group stage to the round of 16 and the United States will host the tournament from the quarterfinals.

Baltimore, Cincinnati, Denver, Nashville, Orlando and Washington are the cities that were left out of the final review process.

(With information from AFP and Reuters)


Leave a Comment