Schools closed for a week in Ottawa and eastern Ontario

This is particularly the case for three schools of the Conseil des écoles publiques de l’Est de l’Ontario (CEPEO). The Charlotte-Lemieux, Marie-Curie and Omer-Deslauriers schools are still unable to accommodate their students and their daycare services are still closed.

The school board explains that these schools still have no electricitylike many households in the National Capital Region and Eastern Ontario.

Closed schools will not offer virtual teaching in synchronous mode, specifies the CEPEO in a communication to parents. However, enrichment works will be deposited in the classroom so that students who have access to it can continue their learning in asynchronous mode.

All other schools and their childcare services will be open as usual. But students who cannot make it to school due to the effects of the storm will not be declared absent. However, it is necessary to follow the usual procedure for declaring absence, it is indicated.

the CEPEO reminds that, for schools that remain open, school transportation may be limited. It is therefore more prudent to check the status of school transport and public transport with suppliers.

On its website, the Ottawa School Transportation Consortium indicates that transportation is still canceled for schools without power and that some routes could be affected by the closure of certain roads.

At the time of publishing this text, the Center-East Catholic School Council (CECCE) had not indicated any school closures on Friday. The day before, three remained closed, namely the Catholic elementary school Laurier-Carrière, the Catholic elementary school Sainte-Bernadette and the Catholic elementary school Terre-des-Jeunes.

As for the Ottawa-Carleton District School Board (OCDSB), ten schools are still closed. It is :

  • Alta Vista PS

  • Blossom Park PS

  • Charles Hulse PS

  • Featherston Drive PS

  • Hillcrest HS

  • OCV Elementary

  • Ridgemont HS

  • Richmond PS

  • Sawmill Creek ES

  • South Carleton SS

As for the Ottawa Catholic School Board (OCSB), the number of closed schools has been reduced from 14 to 12. Those that remain inaccessible are the following:

  • Frank Ryan

  • Our Lady of Peace

  • Sacred Heart

  • St. Andrew

  • St. Daniel

  • St. Gemma

  • St. Gregory

  • St.Isidore

  • St. Leonard

  • St. Michael-Ottawa

  • St.Monica

  • St. Rita

Remember that the Ottawa campus of Algonquin College is closed for the week.

Another four schools affected in Eastern Ontario

The Eastern Ontario Catholic District School Board (CSDCEO) announces, for its part, that it has reopened one of the five schools that were closed on Thursday. This is the Catholic elementary school Du Rosaire, in Saint-Pascal-Baylon, which can once again welcome its students.

On the other hand, schools and daycare services are closed at Sacré-Coeur Catholic Elementary School, Bourget, Saint-Victor Catholic Elementary School, Alfred, Saint-Paul Catholic Elementary School, Plantagenet , and St. Matthew Catholic Elementary School, Hammond.

Back to normal in the Outaouais

In Outaouais, the last schools that remained closed on Thursday, within the Center de services scolaire au Cœur-des-Vallées, were able to reopen their doors on Friday. However, it is specified that due to power outages, it is possible that some of them that offer a cafeteria service have a limited supply.

All schools in the Draveurs School Service Center, the Portages de l’Outaouais School Service Center and the Hauts-Bois-de-l’Outaouais School Service Center, as well as the Western Quebec School Board, are open .

Leave a Comment