LAMP, final stretch to snatch the crown from Tomateros

Mayos de Navojoa, Algodoneros de Guasave, Naranjeros de Hermosillo, Yaquis de Obregón, Águilas de Mexicali, Tomateros de Culiacán, Charros de Jalisco and Sultanes de Monterrey are the eight teams that qualified for the postseason of the Liga Arco Mexicana del Pacífico (LAMP) , which will begin on December 25.

The Tomateros de CuliacánReigning two-time champions of the circuit, they were the last to tie a ticket to the postseason, although they maintain the list of favorites after they have won the title four times in the last seven seasons. Since the 2014-15 campaign, they have only yielded the crown to Venados (2015-16), Águilas (2016-17) and Charros (2018-19). These titles in the last decade allowed them to become the second team with the most championships in the league with 13, only behind the Naranjeros (16).

On the other hand, led by the batting leader of the season, Tirso Ornelas, the Mayos de Navojoa won the first round of the circuit and thus secured their place in the postseason after a three-year absence. At the end of the regular phase they were the best positioned team in the general table. Navojoa has only two championships in its history in the LMP, the most recent in the 1999-2000 campaign. In the 2017-2018 season, the ninth from Sonora was two outs from lifting the title, in a dramatic seventh game that was defined in extra innings against the Tomateros de Culiacán.

For their part, the Mexicali Eagles made their third consecutive playoff appearance. A day before finishing the regular role, they secured the absolute lead of the second round in the LAMP.

Another outstanding club are the Algodoneros de Guasave, which will be one of the four that will open the playoffs at home. The return of the Algodoneros to the league in 2019 did not go all that well in the sports results, being out of the playoffs, but since then the course has improved, qualifying the next two seasons within the three best seeds.

For the Yaquis of Ciudad Obregón this represents the fourth consecutive time that they have qualified for the postseason. The two previous occasions fell in the semifinals, but in the 2018-19 season the team advanced until the last instance, in which they yielded to Charros de Jalisco.

Regarding the latter, the Charros, qualified for the playoffs, however, on the last day of the regular role the ninth from Jalisco will face the Tomateros to determine if they advance within the first four to open the first playoff at home.

Los Naranjeros, the team with the longest tradition in the league and with the greatest number of championships, will go to the postseason in search of their 17th title. Those from Hermosillo have qualified for the playoffs in the last six seasons and the last time they were crowned. It was in 2013-14, with manager Matías Carrillo.

Since their foray into the LMP in the 2019-20 campaign, the Sultans of Monterrey have qualified for the playoffs in each of their appearances, but have so far been unable to navigate past the semifinals. The Gray Ghosts will kick off their postseason run on Saturday.

A surprise occurred in the regular phase. For the first time since the 2013-14 season, the Venados de Mazatlán, who in the last five seasons had entered the postseason in the last two rungs, were left out. Similarly, for the second consecutive season, Cañeros de Los Mochis were also left out. Players from both teams eliminated can be taken into account in the draft to reinforce the ninth of the title contenders.

For the third consecutive season, the playoff format includes three rounds: the first playoff, the semifinals and the Final Series, in which the championship and the representation of Mexico in the Caribbean Series will be played. All these stages are to win four of seven games.


Leave a Comment