Elections in Canada: Liberals hope to keep the red wave in Nova Scotia | The Canadian News

Federal Liberals hope to once again dominate the Nova Scotia province, but some of their seats are in danger of being overturned during the 2021 elections in Canada.

Polls in Nova Scotia close at 8:30 PM Atlantic Time, and this story will be updated as the results come in.

The province, which has 11 federal constituencies, has been largely liberal since the 2015 red wave in Atlantic Canada. At the time of dissolution, the Liberals held 10 seats and one seat, West Nova, was held by a Conservative.

Read more:

Canada Election: Find Your Driving, Your Local Candidates, and Local Results

While the Liberals hope to maintain their momentum, some seats could be a disaster.

In Halifax West, for example, there is no headline because Liberal MP Geoff Regan announced earlier this year that he was leaving politics. The new candidate, former liberal MLA Lena Metlege Diab, will have big shoes to fill given Regan’s legacy.

The story continues below the ad.

She is running against the conservative Eleanor Humphries, Jonathan Roberts of the NDP, Richard Zurawski of the Green Party, Julie Scott with the People’s Party and Kevin Schulthies of the Christian Heritage Party.

Read more:

Liberals and Conservatives side by side on the eve of Canada’s 2021 elections, poll finds

The NDP, which had a stronghold in Halifax driving before the red wave, is trying to regain its seat with former MLA Lisa Roberts. He will face liberal incumbent Andy Fillmore, who won in 2015 and 2019.

Also running in Halifax are conservative Cameron Ells, Jo-Ann Roberts of the Green Party, B. Alexander Hébert of the People’s Party and Katie Campbell with the Communist Party.

Cape Breton-Canso was close in 2019, with liberal Mike Kelloway just barely beating his conservative opponent. While she faces a different conservative, Fiona MacLeod, this time, only time will tell if she’ll be able to hold onto her seat.

Read more:

2021 Canada Elections: Here’s Your Guide For Last Minute Voters

Janna Reddick and Brad Grandy of the NDP with the Popular Party are also running in this district.

And Sydney-Victoria was close in 2019 too, with Jaime Battiste narrowly winning against conservative Eddie Orrell. Both politicians are running again in this race, as are Jeff Ward of the NDP, Mark Embrett of Green, Ronald Barron of the People’s Party, and Nikki Boisvert with the Marxist-Leninist Party.

© 2021 Global News, a division of Corus Entertainment Inc.


Leave a Comment