Collaros Veteran Among 15 Blue Bombers Named To CFL West Division Star Team – Winnipeg | The Canadian News

Winnipeg Blue Bombers quarterback Zach Collaros has plenty of family company on the West Division all-star team.

Collaros was one of 15 Bombers named to the squad on Wednesday. The vote was conducted by members of Football Reporters of Canada and the nine CFL head coaches.

Read more:

Stampeders stuns Bombers 13-12 with comeback late in fourth quarter

Collaros, 33, was a big part of Winnipeg (11-3) posting the CFL’s best regular-season record. He has won 11 of 13 starts this season, completing 70.2 percent of his passes for 3,185 yards with a league-record 20 touchdowns and just six interceptions.

Winnipeg, the defending Gray Cup champion, will now host the Saskatchewan Roughriders or Calgary Stampeders in the West Division final on December 5.

The story continues below the ad.

Click to play video: 'RAW: Blue Bombers Zach Collaros Interview - Oct.15'

RAW: Interview with Zach Collaros from Blue Bombers – October 15

RAW: Blue Bombers Zach Collaros Interview – Oct 15 – Oct 15, 2021

Joining Collaros on the West Division offense are Winnipeg receivers Kenny Lawlor (64 receptions, 1,014 yards, six TDs) and Nic Demski (48 receptions, 654 yards, four TDs), guards Drew Desjarlais and Patrick Neufeld and tackle. Stanley Bryant and Jermarcus Hardrick. Demski, Desjarlais and Neufeld were unanimous selections.

Linebacker Adam Bighill led the seven Bombers selected for defense. Bighill recorded 70 tackles for the CFL’s best defense this season with two sacks, three tackles for a loss, two interceptions and two forced fumbles.

Also named were defensive linemen Willie Jefferson and Jackson Jeffcoat, linebacker Alden Darby, cornerback DeAundre Alford, running back Deatrick Nichols and safety Brandon Alexander.

Read more:

Zach Collaros named Winnipeg Blue Bombers Top Player

Mike Miller, who recorded a maximum of 25 special teams tackles in the CFL, earned the other spot from the Winnipeg All-Stars as a unanimous special teams selection.

The story continues below the ad.

The Calgary Stampeders have seven players on the team, including Australian-born punter Cody Grace, who became the first global player to be selected as an All-Star. The others were running back Ka’Deem Carey, catcher Kamar Jorden, center Sean McEwen (unanimous), defensive tackle Mike Rose, linebacker Darnell Sankey and kicker Rene Paredes (unanimous).

The BC Lions had three players on the team – wide receivers Bryan Burnham and Willie Whitehead and running back TJ Lee – while the Saskatchewan Roughriders had two reps in defensive tackle Micah Johnson and cornerback Nick Marshall. The Edmonton Elks had no selections.

Click to play video: 'Bob Irving retires after nearly 50 years as the voice of Winnipeg Blue Bombers'

Bob Irving retires after nearly 50 years as the voice of Winnipeg Blue Bombers

Bob Irving Retires After Nearly 50 Years As The Voice Of Winnipeg Blue Bombers – November 9, 2021

Linebacker Simoni Lawrence topped the list of 10 Hamilton Tiger-Cats named to the East Division team. Lawrence, who became the franchise’s top tackler in last week’s 24-3 home win over Saskatchewan, was among the six Ticats selected for the defensive unit along with defensive linemen Ja’Gared Davis and Dylan Wynn, cornerback Jamal Rolle, running back Cariel Brooks and safety Tunde. Adeleke (unanimous).

The story continues below the ad.

Hamilton’s offensive picks were wide receivers Tim White and Jaelon Acklins, point guard Brandon Revenberg (unanimous) and tackle Chris Van Zeyl (unanimous).

Read more:

Santa, children’s gifts among the plans for the CFL Western Final in Winnipeg

The Toronto Argonauts, who ranked first, included seven players on the team. The offensive selections were quarterback McLeod Bethel-Thompson, wide receiver Kurleigh Gittens Jr. and center Peter Nicastro, with the last two Canadians being unanimous selections.

Defensive lineman Shawn Oakman, linebacker Chris Edwards and running back Shaquille Richardson were named defensively, while kicker Boris Bede was a special teams selection.

Click to play video: 'Santa, kids gifts among plans for CFL Western Final in Winnipeg'

Santa, children’s gifts among the plans for the CFL Western Final in Winnipeg

Santa, Kids Gifts Among Plans for CFL Western Final in Winnipeg – Nov 16, 2021

CFL rushing leader William Stanback (1,178 yards) topped the list of seven Montreal Alouettes named. The others were catchers Eugene Lewis and Jake Wieneke, point guard Kristian Matte, tackle Landon Rice, defensive end David Menard and defensive back Monshadrick Hunter.

The story continues below the ad.

Menard, Rice and Matte were elected unanimously.

Read more:

Bob Irving retires after nearly 50 years as the voice of Winnipeg Blue Bombers

Devon Dedmon, who returns kicks, was among the Ottawa Redblacks’ three picks. The others were linebacker Avery Williams and punter Richie Leone.

The stars of the CFL will be announced in December.

© 2021 The Canadian Press

Leave a Comment