– Hello Calgary

Travel to Canada to see the country and, incidentally, find out what Canadian men and women are like. But what are Canadian men and women like? Canadian women and men are very independent and are not used to affection or affection like Hispanics or Latinos. Canada is a multicultural country, where many cultures and nationalities coexist. In fact, it is difficult to find a Canadian whose complete family tree is from Canada. Generally, the grandparents emigrated from some country to Canada and the children have stayed and have been formed in the Canadian culture.

Canada has an area of: 9,970,000 km2. It is the second largest country in the world. To the west, north and east it is surrounded by three oceans: the Pacific, the Arctic and the Atlantic, respectively. To the south it limits with the United States in a strip of 8,892 km.

Canadian geography is varied. It includes fertile plains, suitable for agriculture, mountain ranges, countless lakes and rivers, a multitude of extensive forests and the tundra in the Arctic. Its highest mountain is Mount Logan, which is located in the Yukon and is 5,989 meters high.

It is estimated that in Canada there are 30,000 lakes with an extension of more than 3 km. The largest are the Great Lakes shared by the United States and Canada. Lake Superior is the largest, with an area of ​​82,100 km.

The longest river in Canada is the Mackenzie. It is located in the Northwest Territories and has a length of 4,241 km.

Canada’s history

Until the 15th century, Canada was inhabited by some 300,000 natives of very diverse cultures who occupied all regions of the country and lived by hunting, fishing or agriculture.

Trending on Canadian News  Caught on cam: Victoria apartment fire rescue

In the 17th century, French and British explorers founded the first colonies, to take advantage of the fur trade. The French settled along the St. Lawrence River, the Mississippi, and around the Great Lakes. The British did it around Hudson Bay and on the Atlantic coast. Due to the commercial rivalry between the colonies of New France and New England, in the 18th century a conflict broke out between France and Great Britain that culminated in British victory. In 1763, with the Treaty of Paris, New France became a British colony and, a few years later, Great Britain officially recognized French civil law and guaranteed religious and linguistic freedom for Francophones in Canada.

On July 1, 1867, by the British North American Act, Great Britain united into one nation four of its provinces in North America: Upper Canada (now Ontario), Lower Canada (now Quebec), Nova Scotia, and New Brunswick and giving it the title of Dominion of Canada, it acquired the status of an independent nation with its own government based on the British parliamentary system. In later years, Canada incorporated the other British colonies from North America. New provinces were created and new territories were annexed until present-day Canada was formed. A major constitutional reform was carried out in 1982 and, as a consequence, the British North American Act of 1867 and its various amendments became the current Constitution of Canada.

Political and legal organization of Canada

Real Estate in Calgary - Fernando Aramburu

Canada is a constitutional monarchy, a federal state, and a parliamentary democracy. It is made up of ten provinces and three territories. Queen Elizabeth II of England is Queen of Canada and, therefore, is the Head of State of the country. He delegates his powers to the Governor General of Canada. Executive power is exercised by the Prime Minister and his cabinet of government. The legislative power is represented by Parliament, which consists of two chambers: the Upper House or Senate, which consists of 105 appointed senators, and the House of Commons, which consists of 308 deputies (one representative for each electoral district), elected by suffrage. universal. The election of deputies is usually carried out in four years, with five years being the maximum legislative period allowed. The party that obtains the largest number of representatives in the House of Commons is the one in charge of forming the government.

Trending on Canadian News  Spit decision: Lethbridge city council considers ban on spitting in public places

The Constitution of Canada establishes federalism as a form of government and defines the functions of the federal government, which deals with general matters such as foreign policy, international trade, defense, fishing, transportation, immigration, human rights, communications, monetary. banking and criminal law and systems. The provinces have jurisdiction over the administration of justice, civil rights, exploitation of natural resources, education, culture and municipal administration. The federal government and the provinces share responsibility for the environment. Each province has its own Legislative Assembly, elected by universal suffrage.

The Constitution establishes a Declaration of Rights and Freedoms for all persons residing in Canada; protects freedom of expression and religion, democratic rights, freedom of movement, linguistic rights.

The post Canada – Immigrating and Living in Canada appeared first on Life in Canada – Events, Latino Directory, Jobs and Immigration.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.