Baie-D’Urfé voters will elect two new councilors in upcoming byelections.

Article content

A total of seven candidates are vying for two council seats in the byelection being held July 17 in Baie-D’Urfé, which was called after two councillors resigned within the first six months of the current mandate. The nomination period closed last Friday.

Article content

Running for the council 1 position are Tony Brown, Aria Campbell-Kelly, Stefan Kurylowicz Sr. and Linda Tait.

Stefan Kurylowicz Jr., Leif Quraeshi and Tom Thompson are the candidates for the council 3 position.

Janet Ryan announced in March that she was resigning after 17 years on council, stating the town’s bureaucracy was driving the agenda at town hall, instead of its elected officials.

In May, Nicolas Drouin, who was acclaimed to his first term in the election held last November, stated he resigned for personal reasons.

In the town of around 4,000 residents, the mayor and four of six councilors were acclaimed last fall.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.