Albertans Vote Against Ditching Daylight Saving Time In Razor-Narrow Referendum

Article content

Albertans will continue to change their clocks twice a year after the “no” side narrowly won the daylight saving time referendum.

Article content

On Tuesday, Elections Alberta released the results of the October 18 referendum in which voters were asked “Do you want Alberta to adopt year-round daylight saving time, which is daylight saving time, eliminating the need to change our watches twice a year? “

Of those who voted, 50.2 percent answered “no,” while 49.8 percent said “yes.”

In Edmonton, 54.6 percent of voters answered “no” and 45.4 percent said “yes.” In Calgary, 51.5% voted “no” and 48.5% voted “yes.”

A total of 38.7 percent of eligible voters cast their vote in the daytime referendum.

Meanwhile, a trio of candidates affiliated with the Conservative Party of Canada prevailed in the election of three potential Alberta senators.

Pam Davidson got 18.2 percent of the vote, Erika Barootes with 17.1 percent and Mykhailo Martyniouk with 11.3 percent. A total of 13 people submitted their name on the ballot.

Alberta does not have the power to elect senators. The names of the three winners will be presented by the province for consideration by the federal government officials who are the ones who appoint the people to the Senate.

With files from Ashley Joannou

Editor’s Note: This story has been updated to correct the percentages of voters who said yes and no in Alberta.

Leave a Comment