Monday, March 1

Schools in some regions of southern Ontario to reopen Monday | The Canadian News

In-person teaching will resume in schools in seven southern Ontario regions, the rest will remain in the online learning format.

Rodrigo Diaz M.

The schools of seven public health units in southern Ontario are authorized to reopen their doors for in-person learning starting Monday, while the rest will continue to teach students online.

Those seven public health units are: Gray Bruce; Haliburton, Kawartha, Pine Ridge, Hastings and Prince Edward Counties, Kingston, Frontenac and Lennox & Addington, Leeds, Grenville and Lanark, Peterborough; and Renfrew County.

The government clarified that schools in all other public health units in southern Ontario will continue with the distance learning format.

In late December, the government announced that all schools would be closed for face-to-face learning during the first week of the winter term.

This closure was subsequently extended until January 25 for all schools in Southern Ontario, while Northern Ontario students returned to classrooms on January 11.

The Ontario government declared another state of emergency on January 12 and extended online learning for schools in the five areas hardest hit by COVID-19 until February 10.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *